The format of Gemini Man has also made people wonder about James Cameron’s upcoming Avatar sequels. After all, as far as cinematic technology and format go, Cameron is the master. But Cameron doesn’t think HFR is a format that should be used to shoot an entire film. When asked by Collider’s Steve Weintraub on what he thought about the HFR in Gemini Man, Cameron had this to say:

And to me, it’s just a solution for those shots. I don’t think it’s a format. That’s just me personally. I know Ang doesn’t see it that way. I don’t think it’s like the next 70 millimetre or the next big thing. I think it’s a tool to be used to solve problems in 3D projection. And I’ll be using it sparingly throughout the Avatar films, but they won’t be in high frame rate. But I am curious to see what they came up with.” Cameron followed that up with: I think Cameron really hit the nail on the head there. If a film is meant to be projected in 3D, a little bit of HFR will make it look crisp. But as we saw in Gemini Man, HFR really sticks out like a sore thumb in scenes where people are simply having a conversation or doing regular things. Avatar 2 will hit cinemas in December 2021. 

James Cameron Says Avatar Sequels Won t Be in High Frame Rate  Also Comments on Gemini Man - 39